Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

Dreaming the way there

Leave a comment

EB pix Germany and more 525    You will write if you will write without thinking of the result in terms of a result, but think of the writing in terms of discovery. ~ Gertrude Stein.

     The nearly indescribable magic of technology: when I’m away at the shore that Hurricane Sandy ravaged last fall, my blog will be sharing itself while I have no internet access at all. And my current work-in-progress will have a slice of my time and attention it hasn’t seen for weeks.

     As Gertrude Stein suggests, I will approach the writing on the only terms it truly allows –the terms of discovery. I’ll know I’m immersed back in that process when things begin to strike with notes my inner ear can hear, when my crown and scalp suddenly tingle.

     I’ll spread out images like those below and enter their world, like a dreamer. When people ask, “Why do you write?” this sort of muddled description is the closest I can ever get to an answer.

     It’s like dreaming the way there, driving by inner headlights. Finding a certain kind of ground waiting underfoot.    EB pix Germany and more 432    EB pix Germany and more 286    EB pix Germany and more 262

Leave a Reply

