Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

The rich harvest of feelings

13 Comments

IMG_9412It’s my pleasure this week to share this Guest Post:

The Reunion We Find Waiting

by Eric Mondschein

Being asked to write a guest post proved more difficult than I had imagined. I have a blog, and know I need to be more active about posting my own commentaries and thoughts, not to mention articles on issues of the day.

Here, however, I have been asked to write for someone else’s site, thus not only representing myself, but in a way, her, as well. To complicate matters, if I were writing about a topic, issue, or event, I would tackle it as I normally do: research the subject, gather facts, determine the particular principles that might apply, learn what others have said, then form my own conclusions and put pen to paper – or, these days, fingers to keyboard.

No one makes me write. In professional positions I’ve held over the years, I have been required to file reports, write memoranda, even treatises, but I was never required to publish law-related articles, or write poems. I wrote those because I wanted to.

It certainly was not because I had nothing better to do. The time spent away from family and the activities that were sacrificed along the way attest to that. It was more often a feeling of being compelled to write. Not for others, although most writers do want people to read their work, but to feed a need or a desire coming from within. This sunflower is BIG

No one makes me post articles, poetry – even recipes — on my blog, though I’ve been struggling to keep up with my postings. It’s not that I’ve been lax, although I am sure that plays a small part. Instead, for now, I’ve felt compelled to write about my experience growing up. The writing is not really so much about me as it is about those feelings and emotions that we all at one time or another share; feelings of joy, happiness, sadness, anger, fear — and yes, loss — that each of us, in our own yet similar ways, do inevitably encounter.

Through this writing experience, I have come to recognize, dare I speak a universal truth, that even in the solitude of writing, we are not truly alone. Our memories of loved ones, friends, and those we admire are always with us, some closer to the surface of awareness than others, but they are there nonetheless.

And if we are really willing to listen, they have much to offer.

IMG_1861

You Touched Me

After so many years of building barriers, digging trenches,
Setting stone, and preparing to do battle,
You breached the walls, broke the seals and smashed the locks
Where I had taken refuge.

Your warm smile and gentle words of encouragement
Made me take pause and ponder.
I laid down my sword and shield, and removed my armor.

You touched me where I used to live, and amazed,

                                                                                        I found that I was still at home.

Eric01Dr. Eric S. Mondschein has taught law and education, worked for the US government, published and edited numerous articles and books, directed an award-winning program for the New York State Bar Association, and served as an advisor in external affairs, government relations, security, and analysis of human rights. His book, Life at 12 College Road, is scheduled for release by Something or Other Publishing this fall. To learn more, visit http://soopllc.com.

13 thoughts on “The rich harvest of feelings

  1. Thank you Eric for this guest post and for writing to feed your need that comes from deep within. Through this sharing, you touch that need within me, reminding me that we are truly one. Writers, such as you and Phyllis, gift and inspire me when writing from this sacred space. I am grateful for the timing of your words today that have indeed touched me.

  2. wonderfully written, Rick!
    keeeep writing…lures the soul to enlightenment

  3. This is lovely, Eric

  4. To Phyllis, Eric, and other writers,

    Thank you all for your contributions.
    I too feel the power of writing even in my own tiny way. Its exhausting, but a sense of satisfaction hits you after you hit that last period and try your best to clean it up(thank God for spell-check). I appreciate more than ever the amount of effort required and admire those who do it on a regular basis. (Nimble fingers helps a lot as well in the Internet Age).

  5. Thank you Carol. That means a lot to me.

  6. Pingback: The Reunion We Find Waiting | Eric Mondschein

  7. Excellent post, Rick. Clear vision, beautifully expressed. Thank you so much. And the poem speaks truth to the heart! Wonderful!

  8. Pingback: The Reunion We Find Waiting

Leave a Reply

