Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

The flow was pushed

2 Comments

IMG_3188

Big thanks to Penney Peirce and her Intuition & Energy blog for a gem she treasured in one of her posts recently. (There are many gems at Penney’s blog.)

She was making her way across country in a flow of transition and shared this from writer Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker Creek:

IMG_1387It has always been a happy thought to me that the creek runs on all night, new every minute, whether I wish it or know it or care, as a closed book on a shelf continues to whisper to itself its own inexhaustible tale. …I can hardly believe that this grace never flags, that the pouring from ever-renewable sources is endless, impartial, and free.

Then, Penney notes, Dillard “has a turn of thought and says”:

The damned thing was flowing because it was pushed.

This leaves me gasping. How am I learning how to love, receive, and value this push?

We had a bunch of different sunflowers pop up in the garden before we planted anything - so I moved them to the edges of the garden and we got a bunch of different ones!  (Some from our garden last year and some I think from the compost we boFind Penney Peirce’s blog and more about her work and publications at: http://intuitnow.blogspot.com/2013/08/the-flow-driving-in-it.html

 

2 thoughts on “The flow was pushed

  1. Yes, that is a great turn. I am even thinking that the word damned could be dammed, in terms of water flow also, where dammed water is focused into a clear outlet or channel that has been planned by another. We are not as separate from each other as we think, and our actions are clearly in response to the actions of others. Every action has an equal and opposite reaction, not only true in physics, but in the human world as well. This reminds me of the phrase ‘going with the flow’. But someone or something gets the flow going. I often ask myself if I am in the right stream, or if I should switch streams, but using the metaphor of water, I can’t just fly up in the air and land somewhere else and start or join a stream unless there is an outside extreme force such as a tornado or other disturbance. I must branch off from the stream I am already flowing in, like an estuary, if I want to diverge. In that way, I am still connected to the current stream while flowing in another. And we all flow to the ocean at last, where we truly become one. This passage you quoted reminds me also that I am not alone in my ventures, that I needn’t take it all on my own shoulders, that indeed, that is impossible.

Leave a Reply

