Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

Two wings of one soul

11 Comments

IMG_1670_2   Albert Einstein said:

“The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is faithful servant.

  We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift.”

In her book about creativity and spirituality, The Soul Tells a Story, author Vinita Hampton Wright refers to these as “the intuitive mind” and “the analytical mind”.  She describes that the intuitive mind draws from the deep (unlimited) inner well of our soul, and the realms from which it emanates, while the analytical mind receives what it brings forth and then integrates, relates, and organizes it.

DKHIMG_0757Each of these two partners is potentially strengthened by the other. She calls their mutual partnership and cooperation “the balance that leads to greatness,” and what allows us to be true and “full participants in a divine process”.

It would seem that being such a participant calls for learning about what the analytical and intuitive aspects are like, and how they work together. When they do work as partners, they can yield a heady blend of skill and structure, as well as unlimited possibilities for our creative vision.

This partnership has the power to liberate resources that separation and disunity have chained up. It can even effect a dynamic coherence between the material and spiritual requirements of our lives.

IMG_2993Dynamic: Constantly active, changing; vital – alive

Coherence: Holding together; wholeness in unity – balance

What allows our being and our doing to remain dynamic?

How do we feel and recognize the balance of coherence?

What helps our intuitive and rational capacities work together to make these possible?

11 thoughts on “Two wings of one soul

  1. Phyllis – I have just recently discovered your blog. I’m enjoying it very much. Also your posts on facebook. Congratulations on your continued sweet service to all! With love, Carol

    • Oh, Carol – Thanks so much for the gift of this message this morning. Had a talk w/ Diane B. recently about a possible reunion. Perhaps this year? I think of all of those sisterly gatherings so often now, with ever-increasing appreciation – and always picture the ones you hosted. love, P.

  2. When my intuition (connection to all that is) leads my mind my life flows. When my mind leads and pushes through on its own then pain usually ensues. I keep practicing! Thanks for your blog it is inspiring and thought provoking!

  3. ““The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is faithful servant.
    We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift.”

    No doubt we are horribly out-of-round. And like the trick basketball of the Harlem Globetrotters, we wobble all over the place. I think the rational mind can and should inform the intuition and then get its final orders from the intuition. But like Einstein said, the fact-checker, bean-counter, money-grubbing, Mr. Fix-it within us is way out of control. That’s why humankind is fouling its own nest. And why we insist on separating religion and science, both of which — ironically — seek truth. And insanely, we put science on top while ignoring our spiritual selves.

  4. Thanks for these very thoughtful words, Larry.

  5. Allah’u’Abha Phyllis Love, What a lovely & thoughtful post, thanks so much for sharing it. I really enjoyed it.

    Love, Hugs & Prayers Always,
    Your Beloved Baha’i Sister Lara XOXO

  6. Phyllis, I have been thinking of my patchwork life. I have been learning EFT (emotional freedom technique) to use as a therapeutic tool and meeting life coaches, who all want to know what my goals are. I’ve decided that I live my life the way I grow my quilts. Most quilters design out their quilts completely – know exaxtly how they will look and what fabric they will use – before cutting (totally goal focused). I start with a theme, a color, a block pattern I want to try, then keep adding, different blocks, different fabrics – the goal is to create something of beauty, but I am not sure what the end will be, its really about the process. I think of it as allowing that intuitive side to work with the practical, with service as the goal.
    And Foster says you’ve ben helpful with publishing ideas. Thank you. Joan

    • Joan, your description of the feel and experience of your path is so lovely, and rings so familiar. I love the way you honor the goal, and allow the process that leads to it. Your words are inspiration for me today. It’s a privilege to be connected with Foster’s work, too. xxx

  7. Hi, Phyllis. Thank you for visiting my blog and for the comments you left. I haven’t been able to visit your blog till now as you know, blocked by the Great Firewall of China. I couldn’t resist commenting on this post. I hadn’t heard of Vinita Hampton Wright, and will certainly explore more, but what she writes resonates so strongly with the work of Iain McGilchrist -‘ The Master and His Emissary’ – a book I very much enjoyed and from which I learnt a lot. It’s a hefty tome but brilliant and well worth dipping into if you haven’t done so already.

Leave a Reply

