Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

Along the Snow Fence Road

Leave a comment

dk1IMG_2939

I’m honored and delighted to share a Guest Post about

Snow Fence Road

at Night Owl Reviews this week: Snow Fence Road Cover

I sketched down Snow Fence Road in my 30s after a vivid dream about the trauma that shatters its hero’s life, then spent the next 20 years writing nonfiction. Finally I realized after half a century of life that what I want most is to explore the real power of relationships – their healing power. And if they are the gold on life’s path, fiction is all about them.

There are the relationships that the characters reveal to the writer, and the ones that writers and readers develop with them – and ourselves – as we connect with their story. Hearing that characters remain with readers like enduring friends is a wondrous gift. Yet the only reason this book exists is that the characters stayed with me for so long, reflecting what I was learning about giving and receiving love.

Once a rootless military kid, I find that place becomes a living part of story, for me. When readers say Snow Fence Road feels like an actual visit to Maine, I’m grateful because this place I love so much has always felt like a “fully-developed character”, to me. Small-town life there, as in the story, is human-scale. That’s the one that helps us learn the most about others, and ourselves, I think.photo-3

Read the rest and enter to win a gift package that includes

hand-painted earrings from New Hampshire jewelry designer

Diane Kirkup at:

http://www.nightowlreviews.com/v5/Blog/Articles/Snow-Fence-Road-by-Phyllis-Edgerly-Ring

Photos courtesy Diane Kirkup.

Snow Fence Road, a 2013 release from Black Lyon Publishing,

can be ordered here:

https://phyllisedgerlyring.wordpress.com/make-a-beginning-and-all-will-come-right/

Leave a Reply

