Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

The alms of our own kindness

6 Comments

Gleanings found here and there:

Kapelle1474502_10152134769601802_829158078_n

Ramsau
Photo: David Campbell / GBC Tours
http://www.gbctours.com/

The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.

~ Elisabeth Kübler-Ross

tram1462935_10152403355209698_875712848_n

Bernhard Kretschmar’s “Tram”, part of collection of art cache recently uncovered in Munich.

That I feed the hungry, forgive an insult, and love my enemy…. these are great virtues! But what if I should discover that the poorest of the beggars and the most impudent of offenders are all within me, and that I stand in need of the alms of my own kindness; that I myself am the enemy who must be loved? What then?

 ~ Carl Jung

 

6 thoughts on “The alms of our own kindness

  1. I especially appreciate the Carl Jung quote this morning: wow. That “the least of these” should be right inside of me.

  2. To look at oneself closely, to find your way out of the depths, is not only admirable and courageous
    it is truly living life fully, being open to all the gifts that come from adversity.

  3. Thanks so much for sharing this Phyllis Love, I really needed it today!

Leave a Reply

