Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

Taking refuge in the Divine

1 Comment

Israel 020Gleanings found here and there:

Man is My mystery, and I am his mystery.

~ Bahá’u’lláh

We can trust that there is a knowing that is out of the realm of thoughts or emotions or circumstances. When we deeply trust, our minds open to discover what is true, regardless of what we are feeling.   ~ Gangaji Israel 126

The single most important thing we can do is stop and get off the train of our own obsessive convictions and move into awareness of some sort of presence or the present time … and breathe again. That’s about as prayerful as life gets. That is about as faithful and spiritual as I mean. And everyone can relate to that.              ~ Anne Lamott

Let go of what you are not and be who you truly are. When you let go, you create space to receive more. ~ John Whiteman

In life’s daily whirl, a call to centering — and real sustenance — wafts to me from reflections like these. As a Baha’i entering a season of fasting from the dominance and clamor of the material world, words from Michael Singer’s The Untethered Soul are also helpful: “… identify as the observer, not the experience; don’t let painful experience influence the present; you are not the thoughts you observe; a life of joy and love follows from a commitment made to a life of joy and love. Learn to live from your heart, not your ego. Take refuge in the Divine, not the temporary. Learn to control your mind rather than letting it control you. It’s just a mass of thoughts. It is possible never to ‘have’ a problem again.”

The journey that matters most to me requires that I review the events in my life for the wisdom and purpose they carry. This inventory brings questions like:Israel 150

~ What are my true needs, and what is my inner “enough”?

~ How do I remember that strength, and every resource I require, arrives increment by increment, as I am ready?

~ How do I remember that inspiration and assistance will arrive, but need me to ask for them, acknowledge that I need them, and be willing to receive and act upon them?

One thought on “Taking refuge in the Divine

  1. Imagine a world where everyone lived by this: Learn to live from your heart not your ego.

Leave a Reply

