Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

The blessed way of not knowing

3 Comments

EB pix Germany and more 069Immersed in a book’s writing process once again, I’m reminded daily that faithfulness to this process involves being present to discover what is ready to be revealed, rather than trying to impose anything.

In addition to the pages it generates, writing, like all creative endeavor, is an invitation to authenticity — a powerful and liberating experience of investigation and discovery, as life itself is meant to be.

Creative process’s greatest gift may be the way that it leads quite naturally to the harmonizing of heart and mind as collaborators in a journey of learning and expression, in service to truth. In fact, it requires this harmonizing and partnership, this dynamic balance. EB pix Germany and more 619

I find that while my focus and intent must train in like a camera, they must also merge in a kind of surrender that my mind can’t ever fully grasp or encompass, but my spirit can recognize, and respond to. Indeed, my mind must become a servant to that surrender, and whatever it is that spirit can draw from and impart to it. Diedenbergen_signs

“The intuitive mind is a sacred gift, and the rational mind is a faithful servant,” Albert Einstein said, adding, “We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift.”

I am writing out of my own search. Authenticity comes from keeping the commitment, while not knowing, something I consider sacred practice.

I am devotee to the experience of the discovery, on its own terms. What that “sacred gift” will bestow.

3 thoughts on “The blessed way of not knowing

  1. Thank you dear friend, these words were a sweet balm to my soul and spirit this am.
    I have lived, not knowing, for a long long time. One would think that practice makes perfect. Reading of the experience from another perspective is very very helpful.

  2. I’d have to agree Diane, thanks Phyllis!

Leave a Reply

