Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

Fear’s remedy does not perish

1 Comment

DCnachtlicht1239931_10152434424541802_122031743_n

Photo: David Campbell / http://GBCTours.com

Fear can be instructive when I experience it, though I’m not meant to dwell on it, or in it.

If I understand the inner signals of fear, whose purpose is to educate and inform me, I can choose to make the necessary adjustments in belief and behavior that will prevent for me the unhealthy and painful mental state of being consumed by that fear.

Most often, that state seems one of attempting to avoid the fear, rather than meeting it and receiving what it has to reveal.

DCcobbles10299019_10152693100031802_7716609322850834857_n

Photo: David Campbell / http://GBCTours.com

In the physical world, a fear signal is often a potentially life-saving reaction that prompts me to move quickly out the way of harm to my physical self.

In spiritual terms, I can also experience triggers of fear that point to what could pose danger to my own true and most enduring reality. This signal often arises when I cross the line of moderation and form an attachment to some aspect of the material world.

For every worldly attachment I make, I can gain an unhealthy fear, then easily become overwhelmed by such fears. The remedy, detachment, is in refraining from allowing my physical possessions, the things I do, the things I think, feel, believe, to possess me. For these are what perish.WTOEimage.php

The heart, it seems, is never at rest and never finds real joy and happiness until it attaches itself to the eternal, to what does not perish.

Adapted from With Thine Own Eyes: Why Imitate the Past, When We Can Investigate Reality?: 

http://www.amazon.com/Thine-Own-Eyes-Imitate-Investigate-ebook/dp/B00I1JPC7I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1410352058&sr=8-1&keywords=with+thine+own+eyes

One thought on “Fear’s remedy does not perish

  1. Phyllis, thank you for this sharing. An insight into fear, how to approach it, meet it and move through it. Most valuable.
    With appreciation for your inner/outer work and time to help enlighten others.

Leave a Reply

