Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

Creativity and Spirit shape each other — and us

Leave a comment

My deepest thanks again to the insight-filled members of the Rochester, NY, book club who received Snow Fence Road and its author so kindly last month.

The fact that each of you serves in the field of social work probably explains why you can give a story and its inhabitants the kind of generous hearing ear that all of us long for, as souls. garden2photo-3

In this bright autumn week, I’ll be moving between many seasons each day as I take a writing retreat in Maine. While it surrounds me in the settings of the novel that I’ve already sent out into the world, it will take my inner scribe far from New England, into scenes and rooms an ocean away and 70 or more years ago.

It will also take me inward, one of the reasons I especially look forward to this journey. As long as I’m faithful, as long as I show up for the work each day, I will find myself drawn into discoveries I can’t possibly predict (or try to control) but that I know from repeated experience will lead both to a story’s coming whole and, mysteriously, my own deepest self.

EB pix Germany and more 121

Ponderings I’ll take with me:

How does creativity require faith in the way that spiritual life does?

How does creativity hone my abilities as a participant on the path of life?

How does creativity help me adjust as information or circumstances change?

How does creativity act as a remedy for mental tests?

How does engaging with creative process help me learn more about my truest self?

 

Leave a Reply

