Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

Angels all around

3 Comments

IMG_6021A reader recently wrote about an aspect of my novel, Snow Fence Road, that’s dear to my heart, though not something about which I’ve received a lot of feedback.

She described a scene in which the story’s protagonist, Tess, is struggling with things she can’t seem to resolve.

Her mother urges that Tess keep and drive her deceased father’s car, an old Mercedes he brought home to New England from Europe years before.

“It will help you feel close to Dad. He wants to help you,” her mother reminds.

The reader, who lost her own father while still a child, writes,

800px-Mercedes-Benz_220S_(W_111)_01“It is so comforting to me that besides the concourse of angels (are they comprised of those we know?) and God (well there is nothing but God really, but that is belief, not really an experience), there could be others wanting to help me. People that I can and do know, like my father and others, whom I can feel closer to by having their possessions near, or by visiting places we knew in common.”

Without a doubt, this is a theme that recurs for me, as a writer. It’s a foundation in my nonfiction about the relationship between spiritual and material life, and the relationships that human souls share.IMG_5703

And it’s woven all through the 300-plus pages of my next novel.

The reader’s kind message concludes:

“The sense of the next world and the connection we have with it is sprinkled throughout your book and tends to both relax me (I’m not all alone doing everything by myself) and to open my heart to a continuing relationship with those in the next world (I needn’t forget about them because they are dead). Thank you.”

If you’d like to be on my mailing list to receive news about upcoming releases, please just send a request to info@phyllisring.com

Find more about Snow Fence Road, and all of my books in print or Kindle, at:

http://www.amazon.com/Phyllis-Edgerly-Ring/e/B001RXUFD6/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

3 thoughts on “Angels all around

  1. I look forward to reading this!

  2. I don’t “do” ghosts and I have a very strict interpretation of angels, but I also KNOW KNOW KNOW that those who have gone before are still with me. I am a part of all I have met. And been. And experienced. Without getting too Twilight Zone, we are never alone.

Leave a Reply

