Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

Right timing is one of life’s kindest gifts

Leave a comment

DSCF3564I was grateful to discover this week that the number of reviews at Amazon for Snow Fence Road had reached 100.

“… coming to the last page was like saying good-bye to a dear friend,” the kind reader wrote, asking also, in reference to the book’s themes, “Are there miraculous rewards found in healing?”

As the trail of my current novel comes to its end, I’m reflecting again on what my first one has revealed for me. I had a lot of expectations for Snow Fence Road when I began writing it in my 30s. Never did I imagine that when it was finally published, my strongest feeling would be, “Thank heaven this didn’t happen sooner.”

This stage of my life reinforces that anything of value is not only worth waiting for, but subject to a right-timing factor we can never predict. As I’ve attempted to determine and establish the publishing path of The Munich Girl, my next novel, and the the first book I’ll publish myself, I recognize more than ever that greater forces are always at work in the right timing of everything. angelsIMG_5926

Snow Fence Road looked ready to fly more than 20 years ago when a respected literary agency agreed to represent it. Things seemed on-track for success until life brought changes in the outer world that decided otherwise.

Today, it’s my inner world that appreciates this the most.

Today it’s a different book, in a different world, and I’m a writer with a far different perspective. Two decades ago, this book most likely had a narrow (i.e. months-long) window of time and opportunity to reach readers. Now its possibilities seem as wide as my willingness to follow an ever-unfolding learning curve. Social media and a digital world extend a global reach that astonishes me almost as much as the role readers themselves now play in advancing awareness of and appreciation for the book.

Yes, there are wildly shifting sands in the publishing experience now, but there are horizons I couldn’t have imagined 25 years ago.

READ THE REST AT BoomerCafé: http://www.boomercafe.com/2014/04/02/boomer-authors-reflections-finishing-book-later-life/

LogoFind more about Snow Fence Road, from Black Lyon Publishing, at: http://www.amazon.com/Snow-Fence-Road-Phyllis-Edgerly/dp/1934912549/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1372083362&sr=8-2&keywords=Snow+Fence+Road+Phyllis+Ring

Leave a Reply

