Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

Writing = Rewriting

Leave a comment

Writer VL Towler recently shared a post at her blog that both humbles and instructs the writer I try to be in the world.

Her own dedication to her work inspires me very much, and her observations here summarize a great deal about the reality that all writing is rewriting.

Ms. Towler’s novel, Severed, is scheduled for release this year.

Five Lessons My Editor Taught Me About Writing (and Why My Life Is Not Wasted Waiting So Long to Learn Them)

by VL Towler

jun2015hunt220

Join Night Owl Reviews’ Find Your Next Great Read Scavenger Hunt in June to discover great new books and authors, and maybe win an Amazon Gift Card: https://www.nightowlreviews.com/v5/Blog/Articles/Find-Your-Next-Great-Read-Scavenger-Hunt-June-2015

I set out to write my soon-to-be published novel over 13 years ago when I moved to New England after my mother’s second husband passed away.  With no income to speak of, and no friends, I aimed to write a novel after my foray into screen and television writing in California (where I grew up)  foundered.  Don’t get me wrong. I’ve had a great career in movies, television, and even an off Broadway play–just none of it is attributed to me, although my fingerprints are everywhere, even on television series that you are watching today.

But the Play button must be pushed. Life goes on.

Read the post at: http://vltowler.blogspot.com/2015/05/five-lessons-my-editor-taught-me-about.html

Leave a Reply

