Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

Love’s call to creative living

4 Comments

10407053_929891370430802_6960970249503443276_n

Photo: Wertheim.de

GLEANINGS FOUND HERE AND THERE:

Some more wonderful company, as I ponder the mysteries of inspiration and creative process while reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s new book Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear:

11012752_888727894547150_3805850575552325531_n

Photo: Wertheim.de

“I think being motivated is naturally built-in to one’s vocation. When you walk a path you love, there is something deeper calling you forward on it, like a beautiful question that can never be answered. In the hard times you may turn away from it, but a part of you knows you’ll always turn back because you can’t give up on what you love, even if you try.

In the end, I think the real work is not finding inspiration, but attuning to it. So when I’m not feeling inspired, I know somewhere along the line I’ve been distancing myself from life.

This feeling of being separate from ‘something greater’ is usually brought about by numbing habits; so I’ll take myself to the forest and let my senses be reawoken and warmed back to life. I think pleasure is really the gateway to feeling connected and inspired.”

 ~ Dreamwork with Toko-pa

11923220_898809543538985_8944405655088810547_n

Photo: Wertheim.de

Such love does the sky now pour,
that whenever I stand
in a field,
I have to wring out the light
when I get home.

 ~ St. Francis of Assisi

It is through the power of the soul that the mind comprehendeth, imagineth and exerteth its influence, whilst the soul is a power that is free.

The mind comprehendeth the abstract by the aid of the concrete, but the soul hath limitless manifestations of its own.

~ ‘Abdu’l-Bahá

4 thoughts on “Love’s call to creative living

  1. Thank you, Phyllis! Exactly what I needed this morning!🙂

    Jane

  2. Thanks so much for visiting and reading, Jane. And for all that you share in the world.

  3. Another post that hit home and resonated with me. I’m so thankful for you and your wisdom. Donna

  4. Your words always inspire … bless you dear friend for sharing your wisdom

Leave a Reply

