Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

The writing path of The Munich Girl

Leave a comment

I am honored to be an interview guest this week at New Hampshire writer Lisa Haselton’s Reviews and Interviews Blog.

944080_1103095966369547_7004980646450369999_nWhat inspired you to write this book?

German families were among my very first friends and Germany made a deep impression on my heart when my family lived there in the 1960s. I wanted to understand more about Germany’s experience during the war.

Shortly after I decided this, I received a copy of British/German writer Angela Lambert’s biography of Eva Braun. Then a combination of still somewhat baffling circumstances led to my owning the portrait of Eva that features in the story. You never know where a decision will lead. At the time, I was simply looking to learn and understand, not necessarily write a book. I certainly never imagined that the pathway of my discoveries about Germany would follow the life of Hitler’s companion.

What exciting story are you working on next?

IMG_6046My next book is likely to be a memoir-style reflection about where this novel has led me. Nothing about it is what I would ever have imagined or predicted on my writing path, and there are experiences I’ve had in the course of this book’s coming together that I’m probably never going to be able to understand, let alone explain.

One of the most personally stunning …

Read the rest at: http://lisahaseltonsreviewsandinterviews.blogspot.com/2016/01/interview-with-historical-fiction_29.html CU6VjsYWIAEv_Sc

 

Find more about The Munich Girl: A Novel of the Legacies that Outlast War at:

http://www.amazon.com/Munich-Girl-Novel-Legacies-Outlast/dp/0996546987/

 

Leave a Reply

