Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

In a season of restraint

1 Comment

12278910_938269762926296_4330562656126007750_n

Photo: Wertheim.de

The word “relinquish” has a special attraction for me whenever it appears in prayers and passages of inspiration. In a time of fasting that has become a reprieve, as well as a “season of restraint,” I begin to notice how interrelated the experiences of restraint and relinquishment can be.

A description for restraint that really appeals to me is “self-possession.” Might that be true possession, of one’s truest self?

While restraint seems like a condition that arises from my taking responsibility for my self and actions, “relinquish” means to surrender or hand over. This almost makes these two sound like some sort of opposites—or maybe complementary partners

11014906_824910567597565_94928212601865149_nSurrender and handing over can be very tall orders. But there are two other synonyms that offer accessible first steps in that process: “let go by” and “let pass.”

Relinquishment offers an invitation to freedom—from the erroneous notions and occasional tyranny of my own thoughts. Not the thoughts I experience when engaged in focused, constructive intent, but the ones that spin round and round, either in the past or in the presumed future. They usually suggest unhelpful things and never, ever, take me anywhere new. “Noise,” some might call them.

It's A Long Way Down 374

Photo: Kathy Gilman

Something well worth restraining or moderating.

How? By choosing what meditators know is an always-available option: letting thoughts go by as they arise, like the clouds, the weather. Not identifying with them, or defining myself by them. Remembering that Reality is so very much greater than anything those thoughts are trying to reinforce; those opinions of which they’re so certain.

Choosing instead to spend my time, and attention, in what inspires and uplifts me—claiming back the resources that scattered, frenzied, fired-up thoughts often consume and using them for something better.

514mGijChYL._SY338_BO1,204,203,200_

Cover illustration: Corinne Randall

In a book called The Seven Valleys, Bahá’u’lláh wrote, “A servant is drawn unto Me in prayer until I answer him; and when I have answered him, I become the ear wherewith he heareth … ”

When I relinquish something lesser for something greater, I seem to catch the sweet notes of that greater kind of hearing. As insistent as my thoughts can be, when I’m willing to relinquish them, what appears in place of them feels positively eternal. And always life-giving.

 

One thought on “In a season of restraint

  1. Well-said. I shared it. Much love,Gayle This is the changeless Faith of God, eternal in the past, eternal in the future. ~~Baha’u’llah, Gleanings from the Writings of Baha’u’llah, p. 136

    From: Leaf of the Tree To: jamarzgayle19@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, March 4, 2016 8:10 PM Subject: [New post] In a season of restraint #yiv6542372591 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6542372591 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6542372591 a.yiv6542372591primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6542372591 a.yiv6542372591primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6542372591 a.yiv6542372591primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6542372591 a.yiv6542372591primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6542372591 WordPress.com | Phyllis Ring posted: “The word “relinquish” has a special attraction for me whenever it appears in prayers and passages of inspiration. In a time of fasting that has become a reprieve, as well as a “season of restraint,” I begin to notice how interrelated the experiences of ” | |

Leave a Reply

