Leaf of the Tree

Finding the Divine in the Details

Walking a path that loves us

2 Comments

FullSizeRender

Painting: Judy Wright

GLEANINGS FOUND HERE AND THERE:

Wisdom is a creative power that enfolds, encircles, and encompasses the cosmos, quickening it from within creation.

Wisdom is only realized in and through creation, through our cooperation with the divine power available to us in our creative work.

~ Christine Valters Painter (from Creative Flourishing in the Heart of the Desert: A Self-Study Online Retreat with Hildegard of Bingen)

 

The more you work with your dreams and your unconscious, and honor it, the more you understand it and it understands you.

Fountain 235

Photo: Kathy Gilman

When you develop a relationship with your psyche this way, you begin to carry that energy into life and your relationships.

~ Marion Woodman

 

I think being motivated is naturally built-in to one’s vocation. When you walk a path you love, there is something deeper calling you forward on it, like a beautiful question that can never be answered. In the hard times you may turn away from it, but a part of you knows you’ll always turn back because you can’t give up on what you love, even if you try.  In the end, I think the real work is not finding inspiration, but attuning to it.

So when I’m not feeling inspired, I know somewhere along the line I’ve been distancing myself from life. This feeling of being separate from “something greater” is usually brought about by numbing habits; so I’ll take myself to the forest and let my senses be reawoken and warmed back to life. I think pleasure is really the gateway to feeling connected and inspired.

~ Dreamwork with Toko-pa

 

2 thoughts on “Walking a path that loves us

  1. Phyllis,

    I so needed to read this today! Thank you!

  2. It pulled itself together in front of me this morning, and you came to heart twice as it did – !

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.